Winner and 'Runners-up' for 2016 UALL Awards announced at Annual Conference in Oxford

This was the eighth year for the UALL Awards and, as usual, there was a great variety of entries and there was stiff competition from the shortlisted entries, with submissions from a range of organisations around the UK.  Each entry was assessed on the criteria of “innovation and creativity, sustainability, impact and transferability”.

The winner and ‘runners up’ were announced at the UALL Annual Conference Dinner at Trinity College, Oxford on 18 March.  This ever-popular event was as usual compered with showbiz panache by Pauline McManus (Warwick), with UALL Chair Peter Neil presenting certificates to the runners-up, and finally the winner’s award of the coveted UALL Trophy.

Our congratulations go to the:

Winner: The Open University for Badged Open Courses Project 


*           Aberystwyth University for Engaging New Audiences: Appeal to the Curious

*           University of Bath for Higher Education Study Skills Workshops

*           University of Leicester for Part-time BA Humanities and Arts

*           Middlesex University for Professional Lifelong Learning in the Aviation Sector


Dr Jonathan Hughes, The Open University, receiving the UALL Award and Certificate from The Rev'd Canon Professor Peter Neil, UALL Chair (Vice Chancellor Bishop Grosseteste University)


The shortlisted candidates were:

Vaughan Centre for Lifelong Learning, University of Leicester and the Highfields Community Centre, Leicester Project
Olivia Harrison and Nalita James (Leicester)

University Centre Telford
Mary Mahoney (Wolverhampton)

Work based distance learning at the University of Lincoln
Tracey White (Lincoln)

Part-time BA Humanities and Arts

Clive Marsh (Leicester)

HESS Workshops
Caroline Hickman (Bath)

The engaged University: Towards a framework for inclusive learning for older adults based in their experience as part of the intergenerational learning programme at Dublin City University
Emma Murphy and Trudy Corrigan (Dublin City University)

Professional lifelong learning in the aviation sector
Darryll Bravenboer and Mick Betts (Middlesex)

Pathways to success in Higher Education Project
Eleri Chilcott (Open University in Wales)

Promoting lifelong learning in the Higher Education sector
Jonathan Hughes (Open University)

Transform-IT: On the magic roundabout of skills
Jane Wormald (Huddersfield)

The Universities Heads of the Valleys Institute (UHOVI)
Robert Payne (University of South Wales)

"Appealing to the curios"
Alison Pierse (Aberystwyth)